Announcing the 50 Next Class of 2022

Celebrating the people shaping the future of gastronomy


Many of the biggest names in the culinary world gathered today in Bilbao, Spain to discuss and celebrate the future of gastronomy at the 2nd annual 50 Next event. As an official partner, Choco was at the event to recognize the innovators moving the industry forward and presented the winners of the Gamechaning Producers category onstage with Best of the Best chef Mauro Colagreco.

Here you’ll find the full list of gastronomers recognized by 50 Next and the Basque Culinary Center.

The Winners

The winners are divided into seven categories: Gamechanging Producers, Tech Disruptors, Empowering Educators, Entrepreneurial Creatives, Science Innovators, Hospitality Pioneers and Trailblazing Activists. The list is not ranked, so everyone recognized is equally as deserving of the title of 50 Next Class of 2022.

Gamechanging Producers

  • Corrado Paternò
  • Martin Texier
  • Pol Contreras
  • Jessica Fong
  • Dharath “Tot” Hoonchamlong
  • Yu Hsuan Cheng
  • Rosanna Gahle
  • Rahaf Al Lymoni

Tech Disruptors

  • Daniella Kwayu
  • Farah Emara
  • Fengru Lin
  • Magdalena Jüngst & Tim Jäger
  • Mustapha Diyaol-Haqq
  • Scott-William Braley
  • Nicholas Berry

Empowering Educators

  • Arielle Johnson
  • Charles Michel
  • Chloé Charles
  • Elizabeth Yorke & Anusha Murthy
  • Jun Yi Loh
  • Vinesh Johny

Entrepreneurial Creatives

  • Camila Fiol
  • Caroline Cotto
  • Dinara Kasko
  • Juan Medina
  • Mariana Vasconcelos
  • Oscar Ekponimo
  • Travin Singh

Science Innovators

  • Asrar Damdam
  • Eneko Axpe
  • Gregory Constantine & Stafford Sheenan
  • Jessica Bogard
  • Nidiya Kusmaya
  • Verleen Goh
  • Sara & Max Marquart
  • Dr. Risha Nathan

Hospitality Pioneers

  • Debora Fadul
  • Jackwing Yao, Lola Lao, & Tiger Liang
  • Javier Rivero
  • Mette Søberg
  • Michael Elégbèdé
  • Mmabatho Molefe
  • Santiago Lastra
  • Zineb Hattab

Trailblazing Activists

  • Lefteris Arapakis
  • Jenny Dorsey
  • Alpha Sennon
  • Nicola Kagoro
  • Nidhi Pant
  • Zacarías González

Celebrating the Future of Gastronomy

Our sincerest congratulations to the 50 Next Class of 2022! This recognition is sure to be only the beginning for the many innovators who are pushing at the boundaries of gastronomy.

Changing the food industry is a monumental task that will take the support of many. We are honoured to have been included in the event as an official partner highlighting the role that creative, sustainable producers play in changing our food system. Together, we can change the way food moves across the world.